Sensorial comes from the word sense or senses. As there are no new experiences for the child to take from the Sensorial work, the child is able to concentrate on the refinement of all his senses, from visual to stereognostic.
The purpose and aim of Sensorial work is for the child to acquire clear, conscious, information and to be able to then make classifications in his environment. Montessori believed that sensorial experiences began at birth.

Through his senses, the child studies his environment.

The child, to Montessori, is a “sensorial explorer”.

Through work with the sensorial materials, the child is given the keys to classifying the things around him, which leads to the child making his own experiences in his environment.


The sensorial exercises are classified into eight groups:

  1. Visual: Child learns how to visually discriminate differences between similar objects and differing objects.
  2. Tactile: The child learns through his sense of touch.
  3. Baric: He child learns to feel the difference of pressure or weight
  4. Thermic: The child works to refine his sense of temperature.
  5. Auditory: The child discriminates between different sounds.
  6. Olfactory: Child learns about different odors.
  7. Gustatory: Child learns about different tastes.
  8. Stereognostic: The child learns to feel objects and make recognitions based on what he feels.